Independent Candidate Becomes President, ABVP Decimated in Dr. BR Ambedkar University (Agra) Elections

Elections were held on 15thDecember 2016 in Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, the results for which were declared late evening on the website of the university. Gaurav Sharma an independent candidate won the president’s post with 33.5% votes, Rajat Malik from Nationals Students’ Union of India (NSUI) won the post of vice-president with 22.7% votes and another independent candidate Chandra Mohan Singh won the post of joint secretary with 27% votes.
Samajawadi Chatra Sabha had fielded candidates under two panels- one under the city chairman Nirvesh Sharma and the other under the district chairman Ramsahaya Yadav. Lekha Rani from the former won the post of general secretary with 34.2% votes and Lalit Tyagi from the latter won the post of Library Secretary with 26.9% votes.
Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) which had only fielded candidates for the posts of central panel failed to win any seat. The student party was the only one which had not fielded any candidate for the posts of student representatives for any faculty. ABVP candidates for the posts of president, vice-president, general secretary, joint secretary and library secretary finished on fifth, fourth, second, second and second positions respectively.  
In the last year elections ABVP had won six out of a total of 12 posts, while NSUI had won the post of president. Samajwadi student wing and independent candidates had secured two seats.
This year maximum candidates were fielded by the two panels of the Samajwadi Chatra Sabha. The city panel won the representative posts for the Engineering Faculty and Fine Arts faculty while the district panel won the posts for Life Science faculty and Management faculty (unopposed). Independent candidates won the posts for Arts, Home Science (unopposed) and Science Faculties.

None of the left parties’ student wings contested these elections.
A total of 1282 votes were polled this year which is similar to last year turnout of 1301 voters a rough estimate of about 61% of the total number of students. Like last year only one woman was elected to the central panel while the number of elected female student representatives for different faculties dropped from two to one.
The option for ‘None of the Above’ was also in play which was exercised by some students for various posts. 


(The details of party affiliations of the candidates have been sourced from the Hindustan Agra Live (City Edition) dated 9th December 2016).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *